an everyday photo, every day | photography • art • poetry

Happy Birthday, Rachel Carson

rachel carson tribute

Happy Birthday Rachel Carson

The back yard was lovely this morning, and I owe the reading of Rachel Carson’s books to my observance of my little wild space. I’ve managed to retain that “sense of wonder” each time I look at the world around me. I photographed this fleabane just this morning, covered with dew and shining in the sun as if it was celebrating.

Rachel Carson was a Pittsburgh area native who attended now Chatham University, whose books and work were a great inspiration to me, both as a person who observes and honors nature and as a woman who wanted to walk my own path.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: The Creative Cat - Mimi Among the Geraniums—on a Garden Flag

  2. Pingback: Kitty in Pink | Portraits of Animals Marketplace

  3. I love her words and use her quotes frequently on my blog. Beautiful daisies, such a dreamy image!

    May 27, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

